HQ kindly gifted me this book in exchange for a book review

Genre: Psychological Thriller
Source: HQ Stories
Where to buy: Amazon

Blurb:

Things like this don’t happen here.

Perfect mother. Perfect wife. Jane Goodwin has spent years building her picture-perfect life in the quiet village of Ashdon. So when sixteen-year-old Clare Edwards is found murdered in Sorrow’s Meadow, Jane knows she must first protect her family.

Every marriage has a few white lies and hers is no exception. Jane’s worked hard to cover up her dark secret from all those years ago – and she’ll do anything to keep it hidden…

Review:

I absolutely love love loved this book! I am always a sucker for a good psychological thriller!

I was literally hooked from the get go! Prologue – first sentence – ‘I’m not coming home tonight.’ – second sentence – ‘The thought hits me as soon as I wake up, fizzing excitedly inside my brain, like one of those sherbets Mum used to buy me from miserable Ruby’s corner shop.’

HOOKED! Instantly captivated with my detective head on and eager to unpack the mystery. Where is she going? Is she meeting someone? Why is she so excited? What is wrong with her home life?

I quickly devoured this novel and I am so happy with the narrative, tone, pace, writing and characters! URG I LOVE IT!  I really love Phoebe’s writing style, so I am definitely going to pick up her debut novel The Doll House.

I do love a whodunit narrative? All the guessing, all twists and turns…love love love! This is an interesting and thought-provoking story about a teenage girl who is found dead in the local park and the narrative encourages the reader to look closely at the parents, neighbours and the people who live in the small Essex town of Ashdon as suspects.

Go and pick up / download/ order this book now because it is sooooo worth it! Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will love this book!


Author Profile:

Phoebe Morgan is an author and senior commissioning editor.  After growing up in the Suffolk countryside, she studied English at Leeds University. She has previously worked as a journalist and now edits crime and women’s fiction for a publishing house during the day, and writes her own books in the evenings.

She lives in London and you can follow her on Twitter @Phoebe_A_Morgan, or find her blog about publishing and writing at phoebemorganauthor.com.

The Doll House was her debut novel. It became a #1 iBooks bestseller and spent over 8 weeks in the Kindle top 100. The Girl Next Door is her second book, and a third is on its way in 2020!


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: