2018 reading so far…


  1. An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire.
  2. Devotions by Mary Oliver.
  3. A Mighty Dawn by Theodore Brun.
  4. Secrets for the Mad: Obsessions, Confessions and Life Lessons.
  5. The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.
  6. Idiot Verse by Keaton Henson.
  7. You Do You by Sarah Knight.
  8. The Tinder Box by Hans Christian Andersen.
  9. Everything Wrong with You is Beautiful by Tina Sederholm.
  10. Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong.
  11. The Suffragettes by various writers.
  12. Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman by Anne Helen Petersen.
  13. The Beautiful Casandra by Jane Austen.
  14. To Be Read at Dusk by Charles Dickens.



What have you guys been reading this year so far?

Prosecco and Promises by A.L.Michael Blog Tour.

Title: Prosecco and Promises

Author Name: A. L. Michael

Previous Books: Cocktails and Dreams

 Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Release Date: 12th February 2018

 Publisher: Canelo

Cover Image:

Prosecco Wide.jpg

Book Blurb:

Meet Mia: an unforgettable heroine learning the meaning of life and love on a beautiful Italian island. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Lucy Vine.

Mia’s dad has always been her idol. Now, she faces losing him and he is insisting that she leave England to visit her mother’s family on the Italian island of Ischia.

Arriving on the island, Mia is embraced by the warm, crazy relatives she hardly knows. Despite her doubts about the trip, it is in Italy that Mia discovers connections to a part of her life that’s been missing, and during the sun-soaked days and steamy nights Mia falls for handsome local Salvatore. But as the day of her departure draws nearer can she risk having her heart broken twice in one summer?

If you love Prosecco and Promises, why not read more about Mia’s best friend Savvy in Cocktails and Dreams? Out now!

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:
A.L. Michael
is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of 10 novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, started with Cocktails and Dreams, to be followed by Prosecco and Promises, and Martinis and Memories. She likes to write about difficult women. Well, they say to write what you know. Andi works as a Content Writer, as well as a therapeutic facilitator. She has a bunch of degrees in stuff to do with writing, and wrote her MSc dissertation on the power of creative writing in eating disorder recovery. She truly believes stories can change your life.

Author Photo:




Author Social Media Links

Twitter: @AlMichael_

Facebook: A.L. Michael 

Website: A. L. Michael

A Might Dawn by Theodore Brun blog tour.

My book review for #AMightyDawn by Theodore Brun. 

Blog tour poster final - 2.1.18 (1).jpg Theodore Drun 2018 A Mighty Dawn.jpg



A gripping and brilliantly realised debut epic adventure set in eighth-century Denmark. This is the beginning of an ambitious new series in the vein of George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones.

Hakan, son of Haldan, chosen son of the Lord of the Northern Jutes, swears loyalty to his father in fire, in iron, and in blood. But there are always shadows that roam. When a terrible tragedy befalls Hakan’s household he is forced to leave his world behind. He must seek to pledge his sword to a new king. Nameless and alone, he embarks on a journey to escape the bonds of his past and fulfil his destiny as a great warrior.

Whispers of sinister forces in the North pull Hakan onwards to a kingdom plagued by mysterious and gruesome deaths. But does he have the strength to do battle with such dark foes? Or is death the only sane thing to seek in this world of blood and broken oaths?



 My Review of A Mighty Dawn

*I was luckily sent this book in exchange for an honest review, thank you so much to Kate asking me to participate.* 

I do not normally read this genre, or when I do it centres around Tudor England but I thoroughly enjoyed it and am now eager for more. 

I found this book to be riveting, captivating and not predicable in the slightest, which I loved. This is the first book that I have read about Eighth-Century Scandinavia which was both informative and educational.  I also have not read a lot about the Vikings, so I eagerly delved into the book with no preconceived ideas. 

This is the first book in what I hope will be a brilliant historical fiction series which I will definitely pick up in the future. *EX-CIT-ING…GIVE ME MORE NOW!* 

Within A Mighty Dawn, Brun effortlessly creates a complex world full of intriguing, well put together and compelling characters that will suck you in. While reading this novel, I was fully immersed within the world and at the mercy of Brun cleverly crafted narrative. 

Another part of A Might Dawn that I thoroughly enjoyed was the construction of the narrative. The novel is split in three parts, with each section showing a different side to Hakan aka Erlan (the protagonist). At the beginning of the novel, Hakan is the chosen son, then he goes on a journey of self discovery and finally we (the reader) see him under the ruling of a new king.

After tragedy strikes Hakan’s life, he abandons his old identity and instead takes on the new identity of Erlan. This journey of discovery is one that can be felt by all readers and the tragedy element makes it a page turning extravaganza. 

I do not want to give away any of the book but if you are a reader of historical fiction or fantasy, go check out this wonderful book. This book deserves all its recognition and much much more.

Release date for paperback: 4th January 2018 
Book extent:  608 pages
Publisher: Corvus Books (an imprint of Atlantic Books) 



Author Bio:

Theo is an established author and public speaker. At Cambridge, he studied Dark Age archaeology (amongst other things), graduating with a BA in Archaeology and Anthropology and an MPhil in History. After university he trained as a solicitor, qualifying into the area of arbitration law where he worked for several years, including for two Magic Circle firms. His career took him first to London, then to Moscow, Paris and finally Hong Kong.

However, in 2010, disenchanted with the law and with the germ of an idea for a series of novels already in his head, he quit his job in Hong Kong, jumped on a bicycle and pedalled 10,685 miles across Asia and Europe to his home in Norfolk. At this point he sat down in a spider-infested cottage to write the first volume in his epic historical fiction series, the Wanderer Chronicles. Four years later, A Mighty Dawn was published by Corvus Atlantic. Its sequel, A Sacred Storm, is due for release in July 2018.​

Theo is a third generation Viking immigrant, his Danish grandfather having settled in England in 1932. One could say Viking stories are in his blood. They did also form a small part of his degree, but the truth is they only came alive for him through the discovery of Wagner’s Ring Cycle when he was studying for his law exams. Through this unlikely portal, Theo discovered the hoard of stories from the old Scandinavian and Germanic worlds which underlie many of the works of authors like Tolkein, CS Lewis, George RR Martin, Neil Gaiman, Giles Kristian and Bernard Cornwell to name a few. It was this material that provided the inspiration for the first two novels in his Wanderer Chronicles series.

Besides writing, Theo is also an acclaimed speaker and has presented to a wide variety of audiences about his epic bike journey and about creative writing, as well as inspiring young people to dream big and pursue their passions.

Theo is married to Natasha. They live in London together with Natasha’s daughter, Ella, their baby girl, Talitha, and an unruly dog named Wilmo. 

For more information visit the below website:

Website – www.theodorebrun.com/home

Facebook – www.facebook.com/theodorebrunauthor/

Twitter –twitter.com/theodorebrun




REVIEW COPY OF Still Me (Me Before You#3)


Today I received a review copy of Still Me by Jojo Moyes. People who have been reading my blog for a while now will know I am obsessed with the Me Before You books!! The book does not officially come out till the end of January 2018!

If you like these pics, go follow mine ‘bookstagram’, click here.  


I am so freaking excited I could scream and cry continuously. Thank you so so much to Penguin (in particular Michael Joseph) for sending me this!!
 They also sent me this super cute bookmark and tote bag, which I cannot wait to use. AHHHHHHH the bees.

Have you read Me Before You or After You?

Being trusted by the big brand publishers! ⭐️

Today I received Still Me by JoJo Moyes to read as PREVIEW copy! I was shaking with happiness and anticipation. Imagine Louisa’s face when she pulls out the black and yellow tights…that was me when the first chapter was downloading. tumblr_o8ezgqIxoU1vvkt72o1_500.gif

As you will all know by now, I AM OBSESSED WITH Jojo Moyes, especially her Me Before You books featuring my all time favourite protagonist Louisa Clark. Ahhh what a wonderful character she is.

I instantly stopped my day and devoured the first chapter, forever eager for more knowledge of Louisa and her travels. I can already tell that this book is going to give me what I want (and need!) Book two offered me the initial closure after the heart-shattering events in book one but I still long for more.  Louisa is off to America for this next story and I am SOOO excited to see what adventures she goes on this year and I hope more of her quirky and awesome personality shines through in this one.


What do you think of the cover? I personally LOVE IT.  I love the ‘black and yellow stripes’ look and the little bumblebee.

I am also really excited about more Louisa and Nathan, as I really liked their relationship.  Honestly, in the second book I was a little disappointed in Louisa – I completely understood her loss and felt compassionate but I just missed happy go lucky and charming Louisa. I missed her go-get-it attitude at the end of book one, I just wanted to jump into the book and tell her to live the life Will wanted her to.

This chapter is already so telling – she has upped her life and moved to America, she is exploring the unknown and pushing herself. I LOVE IT and wish Jojo Moyes could release a book a year about Louisa because I feel like she is my friend.

I also hope we hear more about Lilly and Sam in this one!!!!

You will not be disappointed… Louisa is back and is as charming, wonderful, kind, strong, quirky and curious as ever.


Lets chat all things Me Before You, After You and Still Me — Have you read the books or watched the film? What is your favourite quote? What is your favourite part? If you didn’t enjoy them, why?

Book Club Recommendations needed…

Hello lovelies,

I need some help. I need you to leave me some book recommendations in the comments below!!  Myself and my university friends are planing on starting a book club and I need some great book titles to suggest.


What have you read recently?

Also don’t forget to go and check out my Instagram or ‘bookstagram’ over at book_captivation. 

Book update- 

I have just finished reading my review copy of Some Kind of Wonderful by Giovanna Fletcher. OMG I LOVVVVVVVEEEEE IT!!!

I am currently reading Turtles All The Way Down by the one and only JOHN GREEN. I have been longing for this book since the moment I finish all of his other books.

What are you currently reading?