Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Book Quotes.

If you know me personally or have been following this blog for a while, you will know I am a sucker for a good quote. I am that friend that has loads of motivational plaques in her bedroom! Oh huns, if you need some cheering up or some inspiration…just pop to my bedroom and read a few quotes. *Maybe I should create a motivation museum.* 

Anywho, back on track… it has been AGES since I did one of these posts but I love them so I am making an effort this week (and maybe, just slightly I am procrastinating from uni work but shhhh…)



Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

‘We cannot tell the precise moment when friendship is formed. As in filling a vessel drop by drop, there is at last a drop which makes it run over; so in a series of kindnesses there is at last one which makes the heart run over.’



On the Road by Jack  Kerouac

‘The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.’



The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank 

‘How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.’



Oh, The Places You’ll Go! by Dr.Seuss 

‘You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where you go…’



Wide Awake by David Levithan

‘Do not just seek happiness for yourself. Seek happiness for all. Through kindness. Through mercy.’



Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green 

‘I just want you to be happy. If that’s with me or with someone else or with nobody. I just want you to be happy.’



Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

‘There’s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold.’



Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

‘Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.’



The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 

‘I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am, I am, I am.’




The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

‘I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.’



Prosecco and Promises by A.L.Michael Blog Tour.

Title: Prosecco and Promises

Author Name: A. L. Michael

Previous Books: Cocktails and Dreams

 Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Release Date: 12th February 2018

 Publisher: Canelo

Cover Image:

Prosecco Wide.jpg

Book Blurb:

Meet Mia: an unforgettable heroine learning the meaning of life and love on a beautiful Italian island. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Lucy Vine.

Mia’s dad has always been her idol. Now, she faces losing him and he is insisting that she leave England to visit her mother’s family on the Italian island of Ischia.

Arriving on the island, Mia is embraced by the warm, crazy relatives she hardly knows. Despite her doubts about the trip, it is in Italy that Mia discovers connections to a part of her life that’s been missing, and during the sun-soaked days and steamy nights Mia falls for handsome local Salvatore. But as the day of her departure draws nearer can she risk having her heart broken twice in one summer?

If you love Prosecco and Promises, why not read more about Mia’s best friend Savvy in Cocktails and Dreams? Out now!

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:
A.L. Michael
is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of 10 novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, started with Cocktails and Dreams, to be followed by Prosecco and Promises, and Martinis and Memories. She likes to write about difficult women. Well, they say to write what you know. Andi works as a Content Writer, as well as a therapeutic facilitator. She has a bunch of degrees in stuff to do with writing, and wrote her MSc dissertation on the power of creative writing in eating disorder recovery. She truly believes stories can change your life.

Author Photo:




Author Social Media Links

Twitter: @AlMichael_

Facebook: A.L. Michael 

Website: A. L. Michael

Gryffindor Book Recommendations…

Hello lovelies,

I am finally uploading this after it being in my draft box for ages…forgive me. I have previously done Ravenclaw , so if you want to read it – click here.




  • Bravery
  • Nerve
  • Chivalry
  • Courage
  • Daring



So, without further ado these are my book recommendation for those Harry Potter fans who think they are in Gryffindor.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman. 


The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon 


Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.


A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. 


Yes Please by Amy Poehler.


Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.


All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. 


Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.


Being trusted by the big brand publishers! ⭐️

Today I received Still Me by JoJo Moyes to read as PREVIEW copy! I was shaking with happiness and anticipation. Imagine Louisa’s face when she pulls out the black and yellow tights…that was me when the first chapter was downloading. tumblr_o8ezgqIxoU1vvkt72o1_500.gif

As you will all know by now, I AM OBSESSED WITH Jojo Moyes, especially her Me Before You books featuring my all time favourite protagonist Louisa Clark. Ahhh what a wonderful character she is.

I instantly stopped my day and devoured the first chapter, forever eager for more knowledge of Louisa and her travels. I can already tell that this book is going to give me what I want (and need!) Book two offered me the initial closure after the heart-shattering events in book one but I still long for more.  Louisa is off to America for this next story and I am SOOO excited to see what adventures she goes on this year and I hope more of her quirky and awesome personality shines through in this one.


What do you think of the cover? I personally LOVE IT.  I love the ‘black and yellow stripes’ look and the little bumblebee.

I am also really excited about more Louisa and Nathan, as I really liked their relationship.  Honestly, in the second book I was a little disappointed in Louisa – I completely understood her loss and felt compassionate but I just missed happy go lucky and charming Louisa. I missed her go-get-it attitude at the end of book one, I just wanted to jump into the book and tell her to live the life Will wanted her to.

This chapter is already so telling – she has upped her life and moved to America, she is exploring the unknown and pushing herself. I LOVE IT and wish Jojo Moyes could release a book a year about Louisa because I feel like she is my friend.

I also hope we hear more about Lilly and Sam in this one!!!!

You will not be disappointed… Louisa is back and is as charming, wonderful, kind, strong, quirky and curious as ever.


Lets chat all things Me Before You, After You and Still Me — Have you read the books or watched the film? What is your favourite quote? What is your favourite part? If you didn’t enjoy them, why?

Those books that stay with you forever…

I’ve been thinking recently what books I use as a comfort blanket and what books have stayed with me since I read them.

  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  • The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  • The Trial by Franz Kafka
  • The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald
  • Harry Potter and the Philospher Stone by J.K.Rowling
  • A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R.Tolkien

What books comfort or stay with you?

Philip Pullman 

On Thursday last week I went to an event at my university called Philip Pullman in discussion. Basically Pullman discussed his new book Le Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One for a while and then he signed books.



I stupidly left my copy of his new book at home so I purchased a different copy of Northern Lights.

Have you read any of Philip Pullman’s books? Have you read his latest one?

Book Club Recommendations needed…

Hello lovelies,

I need some help. I need you to leave me some book recommendations in the comments below!!  Myself and my university friends are planing on starting a book club and I need some great book titles to suggest.


What have you read recently?

Also don’t forget to go and check out my Instagram or ‘bookstagram’ over at book_captivation.