The Guilty Party by Mel McGrath Blog Tour

Title: The Guilty Party,

Author: Mel McGrath

RRP: £12.99 (hardback); here

Pages: 374

Publisher: HQ Publishers

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb:

You did nothing. That doesn’t mean you’re innocent.

On a night out, four friends witness a stranger in trouble. They decide to do nothing to help.

Later, a body washes up on the banks of the Thames – and the group realises that ignoring the woman has left blood on their hands.

But why did each of them refuse to step in? Why did none of them want to be noticed that night? Who is really responsible?

And is it possible that the victim was not really a stranger at all?

Review:

Firstly, thank you so much to HQ for sending me this book! What an absolutely gorgeous book – the vibrant colours and mystery figured had me completely hooked straight away.

This Guilty Party is a psychological thriller fueled by unreliable narratives and characters. This book is a true test of friendship as they become bound by secrets and lies.

Think you know what is going on? Think again!

The complex narrative takes on many twists and turns throughout, leaving the reader longing for more information and ultimately THE TRUTH. The author cleverly interweaves the unreliability of memory throughout, which makes the reader question their own mind and reading experience.

What I loved about this book was its rawness – humans can be horrible – end of. The character’s flaws makes this narrative utterly addictive and captivating and their lies and deceit suck you in and make you (the reader) feel involved.

Like many ‘what if’ narratives, this one left me wanting more and NEEDING more. I thoroughly enjoyed Mel McGarth’s writing style and will be looking out for more of her books.

Author:

Mel McGrath is an Essex girl, co-founder of Killer Women, and an award-winning writer of fiction and non-fiction. As MJ McGrath she writes the acclaimed Edie Kiglatuk series of Arctic mysteries, which were twice longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and Times and Financial Times thrillers of the year. As Melanie McGrath she wrote the critically acclaimed, bestselling memoir Silvertown. As Mel McGrath she is the author of the bestselling psychological thriller Give Me The Child.

The Guilty Party is her latest novel.

Praise for book:

‘DARK’ – Tammy Cohen

‘THRILLING’ – Erin Kelly

‘BRILLIANT’ – Ann Cleeves

Remember Me by D.E.White Blog Tour

Book Blurb:

Fifteen years ago Ellen Smith vanished from the woods near her small Welsh village. Never to be seen again.

Eight people were in the woods that night: eight splintered lives, eight people hiding a terrible secret. But who can remember the truth?

Now, Ellen’s best friend, Detective Ava Cole is all grown up back in the village where it all began, and everyone is asking the same question.

What really happened to Ellen?


Filled with shocking discoveries and traumatic memories this fast paced thriller is perfect for fans of Friend Request and Close to Home.

Review:

*HarperCollins HQ sent me this book to review in exchange for an honest review*

As many of you will know, I am a sucker for a psychological thriller and as soon as I saw this thought provoking blurb, I knew I had to read it. I must also say that that cover is just STUNNING, the pop of yellow is really clever and instantly sucked me in.

The captivation didn’t stop at the front cover, the narrative also sucked me in with its unreliability, thrill factor and murder mystery. The main character Ava was very complex and like many psychology thrillers before, an unreliable voice that the reader does not know wether to trust or not.

The cat and mouse game/hunt between the characters made for an interesting read and kept my attention to the very end.

Considering the plethora of psychological thrillers I have read, I would give this one a 3/5 rating because it is not the worst I have read but it is also not the an ‘OMG I AM COMPLETELY OBSESSED WITH YOU’ kind of read either. Haha you know the one, the kind of book that you cannot stop thinking about.

About the author:

D E White started writing fifteen years ago, scribbling ideas on napkins at work on the night shift. After various jobs, including working as cabin crew, in a hospital, a supermarket, and as a 999 call handler for the ambulance service, she began writing full time in 2018. She is a multi-award winning entrepreneur, and was part of a small business delegation speaking at Number 10, Downing Street in 2015. Having spent a lot of time travelling the world, she now lives with her husband and two sons on the south coast of the UK, with a growing assortment of animals and several stick insects.

Buy Remember Me at Amazon Uk or go to Goodreads for any other retailer. Publisher: HQ Digital; Kindle pub date 6 Feb. 2019Paperback pub date April 2019.