Hello, My Name is May Book Tour

Thank you to HarperCollins HQ for sending me this INCREDIBLE BOOK!

Book description:

They wrote it on the wall above my bed. Hello, it said, my name is May. Please talk to me.

May has been moved to a care home after her stroke. She can’t communicate, all her words are kept inside. If she tries to point, her arms swing in wild directions, if she tries to talk, strange noises come out of her mouth.

May is sharp, quick, and funny, but only her daughter Jenny sees this, and Jackie, a new friend at the home who cares enough to look and listen closely.

When May discovers that someone very familiar, from long ago, is living in the room opposite hers she is haunted by scenes from her earlier life, when she was a prisoner of her husband’s unpredictable rages. Bill, the man in the opposite room seems so much like her husband, though almost a lifetime has passed, and May’s eyesight isn’t what it was.

As Bill charms his way through the nursing home, he focuses his romantic attention on Jackie, while all May can do is watch. She is determined to protect Jackie and keep herself safe, but what can she do in her vulnerable, silent state?

Book Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! What a read – so many ups and downs and twists and turns!

The pace of the book was compelling and captivating which added to the heightened read and made me never want to put the book down.

Another factor which I absolutely loved was the sense of mystery, this was emphasised by the dual narrative within the novel which presented both the past and present. The reader is only given a glimpse into the characters lives which also weaved its way in to make the pace and mystery all encompassing.

If you’ve read my other reviews, you will know I am a sucker for an unreliable and unloveable character and that’s what this book has!

This book is beautifully writing, thought-provoking and marvellous! I highly recommend this book and would love to discuss it with you if you’ve read it.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!

About the Author:

Rosalind Stopps has always wanted to tell the stories of the less heard.  For many years she worked with children with disabilities and their families.   

She has five grown up children, three grandchildren and an MA in creative writing from Lancaster University. Rosalind’s short stories have been published in five anthologies and read at live literature events in London, Leeds, Hong Kong and New York. She lives in South East London with large numbers of humans and dogs.

When she is not writing fiction she is, mostly, reading it or working as a host at London’s South Bank Arts Centre. Hello, My Name is May is her debut novel.

Blog Tour: Trapped by Nick Louth

Title: Trapped

Author: Nick Louth

Publisher: Canelo

Genre: Thriller

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Blurb:

Two desperate criminals.

Something she never saw coming. A searing suspense thriller from bestselling author Nick Louth. In Manchester, two hardened gang members on the run take Catherine Blake and her one-year-old son hostage at gunpoint. She is in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Held in a Transit van, Catherine needs a plan fast. But it means diving into her captors’ risk-drenched world, and playing them at their own game.

Catherine has been through cancer, miscarriages and five draining years of IVF in order to have her son Ethan. He is the most precious thing in the world. She may be terrified out of her wits, but she’d do anything to protect him. Anything, no matter the cost… Brace yourself.

A nerve-shredding suspense thriller you won’t believe until you have experienced it yourself, Trapped is perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, JP Delaney and Rachel Abbott.

Review:

Thank you so much to Canelo for sending me a digital version of this book in exchange for a review.

This fast paced narrative captivated my attention straight away and I completely lost myself within Louth’s words.

The tension continues to build and build AND build and narrative is laced with violence and mistrust. So, it is safe to say that this is a STRESSFUL read! But in the best way possible because you (the reader) is completely lured into the narrative.

The multi-narratives provide the reader with mass information as they try and piece together the mystery and figure out who and what is reliable. The twists and turns will grab and maintain your attention while also leaving you longing for more. The characters were also well developed and thought out.

Author:

Nick Louth is a best-selling thriller writer, award-winning financial journalist and an investment commentator. A 1979 graduate of the London School of Economics, he went on to become a Reuters foreign correspondent in 1987. It was an experience at a medical conference in Amsterdam in 1992, while working for Reuters, that gave him the inspiration for Bite, which was self-published in 2007 and went on to become the UK No. 1 Kindle best-seller for several weeks in 2014 before being snapped up by Sphere. It has sold a third of a million copies, and been translated into six languages.

The terrorism thriller Heartbreaker was published in June 2014 and received critical acclaim from Amazon readers, with a 4.6 out of 5 stars on over 100 reviews. Mirror Mirror, subtitled  ‘When evil and beauty collide’ was published in June 2016. The Body in the Marsh, a crime thriller, is being published by Canelo in September 2017.  Freelance since 1998, he has been a regular contributor to the Financial Times, Investors Chronicle and Money Observer, and has published seven other books. Nick Louth is married 

Website: http://www.nicklouth.com

Twitter: @NickLouthAuthor

The Guilty Party by Mel McGrath Blog Tour

Title: The Guilty Party,

Author: Mel McGrath

RRP: £12.99 (hardback); here

Pages: 374

Publisher: HQ Publishers

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb:

You did nothing. That doesn’t mean you’re innocent.

On a night out, four friends witness a stranger in trouble. They decide to do nothing to help.

Later, a body washes up on the banks of the Thames – and the group realises that ignoring the woman has left blood on their hands.

But why did each of them refuse to step in? Why did none of them want to be noticed that night? Who is really responsible?

And is it possible that the victim was not really a stranger at all?

Review:

Firstly, thank you so much to HQ for sending me this book! What an absolutely gorgeous book – the vibrant colours and mystery figured had me completely hooked straight away.

This Guilty Party is a psychological thriller fueled by unreliable narratives and characters. This book is a true test of friendship as they become bound by secrets and lies.

Think you know what is going on? Think again!

The complex narrative takes on many twists and turns throughout, leaving the reader longing for more information and ultimately THE TRUTH. The author cleverly interweaves the unreliability of memory throughout, which makes the reader question their own mind and reading experience.

What I loved about this book was its rawness – humans can be horrible – end of. The character’s flaws makes this narrative utterly addictive and captivating and their lies and deceit suck you in and make you (the reader) feel involved.

Like many ‘what if’ narratives, this one left me wanting more and NEEDING more. I thoroughly enjoyed Mel McGarth’s writing style and will be looking out for more of her books.

Author:

Mel McGrath is an Essex girl, co-founder of Killer Women, and an award-winning writer of fiction and non-fiction. As MJ McGrath she writes the acclaimed Edie Kiglatuk series of Arctic mysteries, which were twice longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and Times and Financial Times thrillers of the year. As Melanie McGrath she wrote the critically acclaimed, bestselling memoir Silvertown. As Mel McGrath she is the author of the bestselling psychological thriller Give Me The Child.

The Guilty Party is her latest novel.

Praise for book:

‘DARK’ – Tammy Cohen

‘THRILLING’ – Erin Kelly

‘BRILLIANT’ – Ann Cleeves

The Girl Next Door by Phoebe Morgan Blog Tour

HQ kindly gifted me this book in exchange for a book review

Genre: Psychological Thriller
Source: HQ Stories
Where to buy: Amazon

Blurb:

Things like this don’t happen here.

Perfect mother. Perfect wife. Jane Goodwin has spent years building her picture-perfect life in the quiet village of Ashdon. So when sixteen-year-old Clare Edwards is found murdered in Sorrow’s Meadow, Jane knows she must first protect her family.

Every marriage has a few white lies and hers is no exception. Jane’s worked hard to cover up her dark secret from all those years ago – and she’ll do anything to keep it hidden…

Review:

I absolutely love love loved this book! I am always a sucker for a good psychological thriller!

I was literally hooked from the get go! Prologue – first sentence – ‘I’m not coming home tonight.’ – second sentence – ‘The thought hits me as soon as I wake up, fizzing excitedly inside my brain, like one of those sherbets Mum used to buy me from miserable Ruby’s corner shop.’

HOOKED! Instantly captivated with my detective head on and eager to unpack the mystery. Where is she going? Is she meeting someone? Why is she so excited? What is wrong with her home life?

I quickly devoured this novel and I am so happy with the narrative, tone, pace, writing and characters! URG I LOVE IT!  I really love Phoebe’s writing style, so I am definitely going to pick up her debut novel The Doll House.

I do love a whodunit narrative? All the guessing, all twists and turns…love love love! This is an interesting and thought-provoking story about a teenage girl who is found dead in the local park and the narrative encourages the reader to look closely at the parents, neighbours and the people who live in the small Essex town of Ashdon as suspects.

Go and pick up / download/ order this book now because it is sooooo worth it! Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will love this book!


Author Profile:

Phoebe Morgan is an author and senior commissioning editor.  After growing up in the Suffolk countryside, she studied English at Leeds University. She has previously worked as a journalist and now edits crime and women’s fiction for a publishing house during the day, and writes her own books in the evenings.

She lives in London and you can follow her on Twitter @Phoebe_A_Morgan, or find her blog about publishing and writing at phoebemorganauthor.com.

The Doll House was her debut novel. It became a #1 iBooks bestseller and spent over 8 weeks in the Kindle top 100. The Girl Next Door is her second book, and a third is on its way in 2020!