Blog Tour: Trapped by Nick Louth

Title: Trapped

Author: Nick Louth

Publisher: Canelo

Genre: Thriller

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Blurb:

Two desperate criminals.

Something she never saw coming. A searing suspense thriller from bestselling author Nick Louth. In Manchester, two hardened gang members on the run take Catherine Blake and her one-year-old son hostage at gunpoint. She is in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Held in a Transit van, Catherine needs a plan fast. But it means diving into her captors’ risk-drenched world, and playing them at their own game.

Catherine has been through cancer, miscarriages and five draining years of IVF in order to have her son Ethan. He is the most precious thing in the world. She may be terrified out of her wits, but she’d do anything to protect him. Anything, no matter the cost… Brace yourself.

A nerve-shredding suspense thriller you won’t believe until you have experienced it yourself, Trapped is perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, JP Delaney and Rachel Abbott.

Review:

Thank you so much to Canelo for sending me a digital version of this book in exchange for a review.

This fast paced narrative captivated my attention straight away and I completely lost myself within Louth’s words.

The tension continues to build and build AND build and narrative is laced with violence and mistrust. So, it is safe to say that this is a STRESSFUL read! But in the best way possible because you (the reader) is completely lured into the narrative.

The multi-narratives provide the reader with mass information as they try and piece together the mystery and figure out who and what is reliable. The twists and turns will grab and maintain your attention while also leaving you longing for more. The characters were also well developed and thought out.

Author:

Nick Louth is a best-selling thriller writer, award-winning financial journalist and an investment commentator. A 1979 graduate of the London School of Economics, he went on to become a Reuters foreign correspondent in 1987. It was an experience at a medical conference in Amsterdam in 1992, while working for Reuters, that gave him the inspiration for Bite, which was self-published in 2007 and went on to become the UK No. 1 Kindle best-seller for several weeks in 2014 before being snapped up by Sphere. It has sold a third of a million copies, and been translated into six languages.

The terrorism thriller Heartbreaker was published in June 2014 and received critical acclaim from Amazon readers, with a 4.6 out of 5 stars on over 100 reviews. Mirror Mirror, subtitled  ‘When evil and beauty collide’ was published in June 2016. The Body in the Marsh, a crime thriller, is being published by Canelo in September 2017.  Freelance since 1998, he has been a regular contributor to the Financial Times, Investors Chronicle and Money Observer, and has published seven other books. Nick Louth is married 

Website: http://www.nicklouth.com

Twitter: @NickLouthAuthor

The Girl Next Door by Phoebe Morgan Blog Tour

HQ kindly gifted me this book in exchange for a book review

Genre: Psychological Thriller
Source: HQ Stories
Where to buy: Amazon

Blurb:

Things like this don’t happen here.

Perfect mother. Perfect wife. Jane Goodwin has spent years building her picture-perfect life in the quiet village of Ashdon. So when sixteen-year-old Clare Edwards is found murdered in Sorrow’s Meadow, Jane knows she must first protect her family.

Every marriage has a few white lies and hers is no exception. Jane’s worked hard to cover up her dark secret from all those years ago – and she’ll do anything to keep it hidden…

Review:

I absolutely love love loved this book! I am always a sucker for a good psychological thriller!

I was literally hooked from the get go! Prologue – first sentence – ‘I’m not coming home tonight.’ – second sentence – ‘The thought hits me as soon as I wake up, fizzing excitedly inside my brain, like one of those sherbets Mum used to buy me from miserable Ruby’s corner shop.’

HOOKED! Instantly captivated with my detective head on and eager to unpack the mystery. Where is she going? Is she meeting someone? Why is she so excited? What is wrong with her home life?

I quickly devoured this novel and I am so happy with the narrative, tone, pace, writing and characters! URG I LOVE IT!  I really love Phoebe’s writing style, so I am definitely going to pick up her debut novel The Doll House.

I do love a whodunit narrative? All the guessing, all twists and turns…love love love! This is an interesting and thought-provoking story about a teenage girl who is found dead in the local park and the narrative encourages the reader to look closely at the parents, neighbours and the people who live in the small Essex town of Ashdon as suspects.

Go and pick up / download/ order this book now because it is sooooo worth it! Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will love this book!


Author Profile:

Phoebe Morgan is an author and senior commissioning editor.  After growing up in the Suffolk countryside, she studied English at Leeds University. She has previously worked as a journalist and now edits crime and women’s fiction for a publishing house during the day, and writes her own books in the evenings.

She lives in London and you can follow her on Twitter @Phoebe_A_Morgan, or find her blog about publishing and writing at phoebemorganauthor.com.

The Doll House was her debut novel. It became a #1 iBooks bestseller and spent over 8 weeks in the Kindle top 100. The Girl Next Door is her second book, and a third is on its way in 2020!


Scrapbook of an Unfound Songstress review…

Author: Vicky Nolan 

Blurb: 

You’re a 15-year-old schoolgirl who has big dreams of becoming a pop star, and then one day you get your lucky break. Polydor records sends you to Copenhagen to make pop music – to make you a recording artist. You get back home and your future is looking brighter than ever – until the High Court writ hits the door mat – you’ve fallen out with your management and they have decided to sue. No, this isn’t a dream, this is now Vicky Nolan’s reality and fast becoming a nightmare, and all while still at school at the sweet age of sixteen.

Read about the trial, the family, Hollywood, London town, the glamour, the dog (eh?) and most importantly, the music. Curiouser and curiouser?

We always talk about ‘making it’ and fulfilling your dreams. The question is, what if you don’t? What happens next? Ultimately, this book speaks about life and family; its hopes and disappointments, Its ups and downs. Scrapbook of an Unfound Songstress is in some way a story that speaks to us all, because in the end, the best stories are always true.

“I’m living my life as consequence of yesterday.
And all of my choices compliment my life today.
There may have been times I could have gone and lost my way,
I could have, I would have, I should have, I don’t care – I’m here now.”

@Captivated_by_Fantasy

Review:

Firstly thank you so much to Vicky for sending me this gem of a book. 

This book is written in a scrapbook/diary-esque format which makes it appear deeply personal and filled with even more passion. The description is soo powerful because of its authenticity and ability to suck you in. 

It is safe to say, I am fully invested in her dreams. I feel like I know her and that is one powerful quality of a book. To connect so deeply with a character’s qualities is amazing but even more amazing when that person is real. 

The reader is right by her side through all the ups and downs making her words fuelled with inspiration and passion. Ahhh the passion in this book makes me so so so happy and eager to take on new challenges and not give up on my dreams.

I just love how clearly developed and coherent her ideas are and the relationship she establishes with the reader with her openness. 

Overall, I would give this book  5 stars because of its authenticity. She pours her heart and soul into this book and you can tell – it is just wonderful.  

And, oh my god can Vicky S-I-N-G.  

She is beautiful inside and out and you must go and buy her book and support her because she deserves it so much!  

About the author:

Professional female vocalist Vicky Nolan performs impressive vocals to your favourite songs in her own unique, classic style. From Motown to RnB, Classical to Contemporary Pop and everything else that’s in-between. 

http://www.vickysingsforyou.co.uk

@unfoundsongstress

2018 reading so far…

2018-gif.gif

  1. An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire.
  2. Devotions by Mary Oliver.
  3. A Mighty Dawn by Theodore Brun.
  4. Secrets for the Mad: Obsessions, Confessions and Life Lessons.
  5. The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.
  6. Idiot Verse by Keaton Henson.
  7. You Do You by Sarah Knight.
  8. The Tinder Box by Hans Christian Andersen.
  9. Everything Wrong with You is Beautiful by Tina Sederholm.
  10. Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong.
  11. The Suffragettes by various writers.
  12. Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman by Anne Helen Petersen.
  13. The Beautiful Casandra by Jane Austen.
  14. To Be Read at Dusk by Charles Dickens.

 

980x

What have you guys been reading this year so far?

Oops (more books) 

I Was Here by Gayle Forman


When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated.

She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, and some secrets of his own. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.


Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman 

 

Skye is looking for an escape from the reality of last summer when her sister died in a tragic accident. Her parents think that a camp for troubled teenagers might help her process her grief. All of the kids at the summer camp have lost someone close, but is bringing them together such a good idea? And can everyone at camp be trusted? When Skye starts receiving text messages from someone pretending to be her dead sister, she knows it’s time to confront the past. But what if the danger is right in front of her?